Caldecott Medal

2023 Caldecott Medal winner: Hot Dog, written and illustrated by Doug Salati

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Doug Salati Hot Dog (2023)

Jason Chin Watercress (2022) written by Andrea Wang

Michael Goade We Are Water Protectors (2021) written by Carole Lindstrom

Kadir Nelson The Undefeated (2020) written by Kwame Alexander

Sophia Blackall Hello Lighthouse (2019) 

Matthew Cordell Wolf in the Snow (2018) 

Javaka Steptoe Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat (2017) 

Sophie Blackall Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear (2016) written by Lindsay Mattick

Dan Santat The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend (2015) 

Brian Floca Locomotive (2014)

This Is Not My Hat (2013) by Jon Klassen

A Ball for Daisy (2012) by Chris Raschka

A Sick Day for Amos McGee (2011) by Philip C. Stead

The Lion & the Mouse (2010) by Jerry Pinkney

The House in the Night (2009) by Susan Marie Swanson

The Invention of Hugo Cabret (2008) by Brian Selznick

Flotsam (2007) by David Wiesner 

The Hello, Goodbye Window (2006) by Norton Juster

Kitten's First Full Moon (2005) by Kevin Henkes 

The Man Who Walked Between the Towers (2004) by Mordicai Gerstein

My Friend Rabbit (2003) by Eric Rohmann

The Three Pigs (2002) by David Wiesner

So You Want to Be President? (2001) by Judith St. George

Joseph Had a Little Overcoat  (2000) by Simms Taback

Click here to see the whole list