Newbery Medal

2023 Newbery Medal winner: Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


2023 Amina Luqman-Dawson Freewater

2022 Donna Barba Higuera The Last Cuentista
2021 Tae Keller  When You Trap a Tiger
2020 Jerry Craft  New Kid
2019 Meg Medina  Merci Suárez Changes Gears
2018 Erin Entrada Kelly  Hello, Universe 
2017 Kelly Barnhill  The Girl Who Drank the Moon
2016 Matt de la Peña  Last Stop on Market Street
2015 Kwame Alexander  The Crossover
2014 Kate DiCamillo  Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures 
2013 Katherine Applegate The One and Only Ivan 
2012 Jack Gantos  Dead End in Norvelt
2011 Clare Vanderpool  Moon over Manifest 
2010 Rebecca Stead  When You Reach Me 


Click here to see the whole list