Printz Award

Printz Award Winner 2021

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. 


2021 Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story) by Daniel Nayeri
2020 Dig by A.S. King
2019 The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
2018 We are Okay by Nina LaCour
2017 March: Book Three By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
2016 Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
2015 I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
2014 Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
2013 In Darkness by Nick Lake
2012 Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
2011 Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
2010 Going Bovine by Libba Bray